top of page

Adulting | Life right now

Updated: Jul 18, 2022

'Dearly Beloved, we are gathered here today to get through this thing called life.'



Life happens.

Boy does it. And when I think about all the things that could or probably will happen to me on any given day am reminded of a lyric from a sweet soul, Tatiana; Life is one big fight. Lately, each Morning I wake up and lurch across this rotating time bomb called Earth, my baseline is to get through the day. Yet some are angling for more -like success, a bit of relaxation or a kind word from a loved one. And though each 24-hour cycle brings the potential for good things to happen, all manner of disasters could strike at any time and really mess things up. That's just how life works. Tatiana Knows it, You know it. And that is literally, all you and Tatiana have in common.

So here's a question for you, When things happen, what do you do? Do you freeze? freak out? bury your head in a pillow? or do you howl at the sky with rage? I ask myself the same things too.


Sometimes I feel so weird because being an adult I have the power to do literally anything I want and that's kind of overpowering I guess? I can just go anywhere I want whenever I want, I can take my stuff and just go, or I can shave off my hair or get a tattoo, I can ditch everything and everyone I know and move to a different country. I have the power to do anything with my life that I want, and I have no idea what to do with it. All I have to do is do something.


I guess all I have to do is buy the plane ticket( well not right now because am super broke ) but you get it. I can make that haircut appointment, go to the tattoo shop, and talk to people. Whatever I want to do, I can do it right now actually, it's weird.

Everybody is so powerful and yet nobody does anything with it. This resonates with a passage from the Alchemist by Paulo Coelho . The crystal dealer always dreamt of going to Mecca but he couldn't because he had no money, but after becoming successful, the boy asked him, why don't you go to Mecca now? He replied," Because it's the thought of Mecca that keeps me alive, I'm afraid that if my dream is realized, I'll have no reason to go on living".


As much as this adulting life is difficult, I feel like I have the strength to take that control and do something that I actually want and I still have the power to pursue the dreams I haven't. I am a person who craves to be different, someone who wants to live life instead of just exist. I want to watch as many beautiful sunsets and be in awe of the beauty around me. I want to go on random adventures spontaneously thought of. I want to be that one person who just DID.

Life is right in your hands and nobody is going to stop you from doing whatever you want to do so badly. Your life is yours to make so make it count while you still can.


With all my love and then some,

Xo

Wanjugu.

1 comment

1 comentário


Miss Charity
Miss Charity
13 de jul. de 2022

Nice read 😊

Curtir
bottom of page